Cloudy Skies

img_0176

It has been a long, cold, snowy, winter.  I can tolerate a few days here and there of bone-chilling cold, a few days of snow, a few gloomy days.  But this year has got me screaming, “Enough already!” The cloudy gray skies are oppressive.  They are pushing me to the edge of depression.  Will winter never end?  Will Spring ever come?  I want to see daffodils smiling in flower beds.  I want to hear birds chirping in trees with green leaves.  I want to feel the warmth of sunshine beating down on me.

If like me, this winter is testing your endurance, then you know the feeling of oppressive, cloudy gray skies.

Life in general, has its’ seasons.  There are seasons of heart bursting joy, seasons of soul breaking grief, seasons of plenty, and of great need.  There are seasons of health, hope, and excitement, and some of illness, trauma, and desperation, and stress.

Right now we are in that last life season.  In the last 2-3 weeks, my husband has had 4 trips to the ER, and a couple of Dr. visits in between.  My father has been in the hospital and faces some extended time in rehab, my father-in-law is going through health issues, as is my brother-in-law. Health issues alone cause stress.  More loved ones…more stress.  More health issues, more financial issues.  The snowball keeps on rolling!  Inside we are screaming, “Enough already!”

I look at that picture.  I see the winter snow, the dark, dreary, storm clouds that make the day feel cold and hard.

I take a second look and I see something else.  I see the clouds trying to rise.  I see a very small blue patch at the edge of darkness.  A small vision of hope, that the storm will soon pass, and blue skies and sunnier times lie ahead.

Jesus said he will never leave me nor forsake me.  He told me not to worry about tomorrow, today has enough troubles of its own.  He told me he looks after the sparrow, and I am worth much more than the sparrow.

Thank you Jesus for your word, for your truth, your guidance, and your hope, and encouragement in times of cloudy skies.  Thank you Jesus, for never leaving me.

 

 

11 thoughts on “Cloudy Skies

  1. What complexities you face. Any one of those situations would be worrying (and nerve-wracking) enough, but piled one on top of another — well, they feel weighty even from here. I don’t have any sparrows for you, but I do have a pair of pelicans. I hope you have such blue skies soon, and everyone is flying again!

    Like

  2. Oh honey this getting older is for the birds–spring birds!! I’m so sorry for Mike & the rest of your family’s health problems!! It’s real hard not to think that’s all that’s in store for us from now on!! Whoever named them the golden years must have been, too bad they can’t be the care-free years most have earned!! Hugs to you & Mike xoxo

    Like

Leave a Reply

