May We Be Filled With Thanksgiving

It has been a couple of months since I have posted a new blog.  I’ve been distracted by tensions of a job change, elections, ….and well, to be honest I have just been in a dry spell!

It is Thanksgiving week, and I’m feeling a real need to focus on being thankful.  I know that shouldn’t be a hard thing, but sometimes life throws things at you that makes the Season of Thanksgiving a very hard time.

This year, for our family, it is such a time.  A few days ago a dear family member was taken from us much to soon.  He leaves behind a grieving wife, three daughters, grandkids, and extended family with holes in their hearts.  There will be a chair at the head of their Thanksgiving table this year that will be empty.

God tells us “In all things, give thanks.”  How, I have been asking myself, do we give thanks for something like this?  Then I realized I was reading that verse wrong.  It does not say give thanks for all things.  It says give thanks in all things.  His wife Sharon, and their kids, and families,  have been posting little tid-bits and pictures all week.  Little tid-bits into his character, and how he has blessed their lives.  Sometimes just a picture holding a child with such tenderness and love on his face.

That is how we give thanks “in” this.  They are the ones with the biggest holes in their hearts, and they (whether they know it or not) have been consoling and comforting us.  Advising us, “don’t take for granted that you have tomorrow, love and hold your loved ones today”.

So it is with this on my heart, that I want to say how thankful I am for my husband, for my three children, for all my grandchildren, including the one on the way, for my sister and her husband, and nephews, for my mom, dad and step mom, all my extended family, and for all my husband’s family.  I love you all so much.  Each one of you, (here, or in eternity) have blessed my life.  I thank God for placing you in my life and making my life one of such joy and love.

Sharon, to you and your girls, I want you to know how thankful we are to have known Phil, to have had him, and you all in our lives, how much we will miss him, how much we love you.  May God draw you all near him and give you peace.

I also thank you God, for giving us your Son, that who so ever believeth on him, shall not perish, but have ever lasting life.

May we focus not on the things of this world, but keep our eyes on Him.  May we all , no matter our joy, or pain, be filled with Thanksgiving.

 

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “May We Be Filled With Thanksgiving

  1. And there’s the heart of it. You expressed it so beautifully. We don’t give thanks “for” all things, but “in the midst of” all things. Blessings to you and your family as you give your thanks — I hope the holiday is a good one.

    Like

Leave a Reply

