For Ninety Years

IMG_0465 (2)
Jim Craig…Happy 90th!

 

For ninety years this world has been blessed by this man I am lucky enough to call Dad.  He was raised in Bruneau, Idaho on the family ranch.  He learned to ride, rope, hay, irrigate, and all the other things ranch and farm people do, at a young age.

Dad learned to love animals, and the land.  He loved his family, friends, neighbors, and country.

He served in the Navy during WWII, stationed in Hawaii.

As happens quite often in life, Dad followed the career path of his father and grandfather.  He became a rancher.  He trained and showed quarter horses for many years.  He also trained polo horses for a time. Dad worked on and managed ranches in Idaho, California, Nevada, and Montana.  He was well liked and respected wherever he went.

And he was loved at home.  Dad was…and still is a family man.  If he had time off from work, he was with us.  I remember taking Sunday drives to Calistoga (Calif) to get ice cream treats.  We would fish in the cool of the evening, horseback ride during the day, and play cards and board games at night. We took family trips to the ocean.  We went to horse shows and rodeos.

When Mom and Dad had a night out , it was usually in our front room!  They would roll the rugs and push them against the wall, rearrange furniture, and just like that, we had a dance floor!  They invited my grandparents, aunts and uncles, and friends.  We played records, and danced all night.  I can’t believe how much fun we used to have!

I am so lucky to have been raised in a home so full of love and laughter.

I am so lucky to have Dad as my role model.  He has lived a life of hard work, balanced with fun and enjoyment.  He is full of integrity, honesty, and kindness, and most of all, love.

I love you Dad.  I love the young boy who grew up in the country enjoying the ordinary things of life.  I love that you carried that with you to adulthood.  I love that you passed that all on to me, and I think , I hope, that I passed that on to my kids.

Although neither one of us live in the country right now, it is the love of nature and the lifestyle that God blessed us with, that helps us live, adapt, and enjoy life where we are at.

Memories are such a good thing!  Thank you for so many!  I wish I could turn the record player on and dance a jig with you on your birthday!

Thank you Dad, for being you.  Thank you for being my Dad and for loving me.  I hope you know how much I love you back!

Happy 90th birthday, and may God bless you today and always!

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “For Ninety Years

Leave a Reply

