Sweet Watermellon Days of Summer

Leah and Curly
Leah Wells Colyer and Eldred (Curly) Wells

This picture of my Aunt Leah and Uncle Curly just makes me feel warm and fuzzy, and aching for days of my own childhood.  Can’t you just feel the hot summer sun and smell the sweet lilacs and honeysuckle floating in the evening breeze?

Eating fresh, sweet, watermelon, juice dripping off your chin; does life really get any better than that?  Oh, how I miss those ‘lazy, hazy, crazy days of summer’!

I love my Aunt Leah’s pretty dress and her cowboy boots.  I’ve always thought she looked like Loretta Lynn.  In fact, I’m not the only one.  When my youngest daughter was about 5 years old, we were in a store and saw an album of Loretta Lynn and she said, “I didn’t know Aunt Leah was a singer!”  And my Uncle Curly…you can’t see his face, but you can sure see why he was nick-named Curly!

This brother and sister are two of my favorite people.  They have given me many good memories over the years, and I will love them forever!

3 thoughts on “Sweet Watermellon Days of Summer

  1. One of my favorite photos shows my grandfather and a few aunts and uncles in the backyard of my grandparents’ house, all standing up, leaning over, and working on slices of cold watermelon. We’d ice them down in one of the galvanized rinse tubs Grandma used for laundry, and that cold, sweet melon was one of the best treats of summer.

    Like

      1. Absolutely. They were good days — and to the degree possible, I still live them: not only in memory, but in the ways that I shape my own days. Simple pleasures, and old values still seem best to me.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

