Ice Jam

1-18-2016-002-1

Jesus says in John 7:38 that “Whoever believes in me, as the scripture has said, streams of living water will flow from within him.”  John 7:39 says, “by this he meant the Spirit.”

I believe in Jesus, so I know those streams of living water are within me.  However lately, I have been feeling a bit cold and hardened; a bit icy.  I think perhaps my thoughts, words, and actions, or lack of, have caused a bit of a Spirit ice jam like in the picture above.  I never realized how jammed the streams within me were until I met Whiskey.

Whiskey is the street name of a young man  who started working with me the last couple of weeks.  He had a very hard childhood.  From what he told me he suffered from a lot of verbal and mental abuse from his step-father when he was growing up.  So much so that he has suffered from PTSD and has battled with mental health problems ever since.

He left home when he was 14 or 15 and for the last 15-17 years has been living on the street. Whiskey’s name came from his life style.  It was one of alcohol, drugs, and homelessness.  He has traveled across the country hitchhiking and jumping trains.

A couple of months ago he ended up here and felt he needed to go into a church that he saw.  He said when he did, he met God there.  I believe him.  I never knew him before, but he is such a breath of fresh air.

He may not know it, but Whiskey has awakened the Spirit within me.  He is a hard-working young man who is very pleasant to be around.  He has a new-found love of God in him and he shares it openly.

His love and thirst for Christ is so genuine and he has a sincere desire to share Christ with everyone, so that they may be saved also.  Being around him makes me “thirsty.”  Those streams of living waters are flowing from  within him.

I want my ice jam to melt.  I want the rivers of life to “flow” again in my life.  I want people to meet me and feel God’s Spirit touching them in the same way it has me through Whiskey.

I thank God for placing  Whiskey in my life at this time, and I pray God will continue to bless him and use him.

 

 

One thought on “Ice Jam

Leave a Reply

