Fields of Joy

564389_4012891930080_1055169726_n (2)-1

If you are a country music fan like I am, you probably know Joey and Rory Feek.

I love their music.  I love that they are married, that they sing together, and that they love God.

I’ve been following their blog and their story lifts me up and breaks my heart at the same time.  Joey is battling terminal cancer and has been sharing her walk down this hard road.

I have a friend who has been walking down that same road for a long time. She shares a lot of the same character traits with Joey.  She is a loving wife and mother. She has country roots. She has had a positive attitude, trusting God was walking with her.

Like Joey, my friend has inspired me with her courage, grace, and the love and concern she has shown for her family.

Yesterday my friend’s walk on this earth ended.

My grief is for her husband, children, grandchildren, and family.  I know they will miss her.  I will also.

I am not sad for her though.  She is no longer in pain and struggling.  She is in a place so full of joy, peace, and song, that even the trees are clapping in joy as she walks through the fields of heaven.

Isaiah 55: 12

“You will go out in joy and be led forth in peace, the mountains and hills will burst into song before you, and all the trees of the field will clap their hands.”

One thought on “Fields of Joy

Leave a Reply

