Faces From My Past

093-1
My Great Grandmother Harriett Wells, Great Grandfather Absalom Wells, Grandfather Otis Wells (baby) and his brother and sisters

I knew my grandfather, Otis Wells.  He was such an important part of my life growing up.  I am sure I probably met some of his siblings when I was young, but I don’t really remember them.  I never knew my great grandparents.

There is a face in there, other than my Grandfather Otis, that I do know.  I did not know her, but I definitely know her face.  I look at her face and I see my Aunt Mae.  She looks so much like my great-grandmother, that I find myself believing it is her dressed up for one of those “Old Time” pictures that are so popular at fairs.

I love digging through all these old family pictures.  I wish I would have started this years ago, when it would have been easier to put stories with them.  I wish I would have gleaned the memories of my family when I still had the chance.  Now so many have passed on.  I am left to try to imagine what their lives were like.

I do have an interesting connection with my Great Grandmother Harriett, and Great Grandfather Absalom.  My husband and I live in Montana.  He was born and raised here.  My family history came mainly from Idaho.  The Craig side of my family had a homestead in Bruneau, Idaho.  That is about 30 miles from a little town called Mountain Home.  The Wells side also has roots in this area.

My Mother-in-law’s parents were married in Mountain Home.  There was a child who was killed in a wagon accident when he was young. I believe it was her Uncle.  He was buried in the cemetery in Mountain Home.  We went to Idaho on vacation several years back and my husband’s mother asked us to try to find that childs headstone and take a picture of it for her family history.

After searching for quite a long time we did find it.  While my husband was taking the picture, I turned and was looking at some of the headstones right behind his ancestors.  Guess what I found?  I found my great grandparents were buried right behind my husband’s family!  It kinda made the hairs stand up on the back of my neck!  It made me feel like my husband and I were connected from years past.

That was when I discovered my mother was named after my great-grandmother, and my Uncle Eldred’s middle name was passed to him in honor of my great-grandfather.  Faces from my past….amazing how they live on in my life!

 

Leave a Reply

