Eternity Embraces Time

I had intended to post this blog a couple of days before Christmas, but my computer was giving me fits and freezing up on me.  Hopefully the spirit of this Christmas message will continue with you into the New Year and into Eternity itself.

I was watching a program last night with David Jeramiah.  He was telling the Christmas story in a way I have never heard before.  He told how Jesus left his riches in heaven, came to earth and became poor for us.  He took our sins with him on the cross, so that we may have eternal life.

Yes, all that I have heard; usually connected with the Easter story.  It was what he said next that really hit me.  He said Eternity embraced time so that we who are bound by time may someday embrace Eternity.

Think about that for a minute..Eternity (God, the Father, Son, Holy Spirit) came as a baby to this earth to embrace time ( us, you and me).  He reached down from his place in heaven to hold us, cling to us, nailed our sins with him on that cross.  Why?  He did it so that we (time) could acknowledge his sacrifice on the cross, accept his love, and ask for forgiveness for our sins.  Why?  Just so he could gloat over us, make us gravel at his feet, so that we could understand his power and our weakness?  No…he did it so that someday we (time) could embrace Eternity (Jesus).  He did it so that someday we could hug him back!

What a visual image that leaves in my mind.  I hope whenever I hear the name Jesus, or see a cross, that I will always see his arms reaching around me, wanting a hug back from me.

I hope you had a Merry Christmas.

Leave a Reply

